Encore

This is the day I said goodbye.

Boxes loaded in my trunk, navigating the space

like I was playing Tetris.

 

There was the ammonia smell

of fluorescent halls –

the exposed skin of my back tingling.

 

I wanted to be invisible,

but Z and Tim spotted me.

I squeaked out a greeting and

the shell around my heart cracked.

I couldn’t keep swallowing all these lasts.

 

I remember your room most.

Lunches, chocolate, escape.

Tears drowned our words

and I hated that I would never

be able to say enough to you.

 

That day – that moment

felt so final.

Leave a Reply

