A Friend’s Loss

I read about it –

my background blenders

and the buzz

of patrons.

Phone ready,

I was going to lament

my doctor’s warning:

Watch that weight gain.

 

But your loss sinks in.

My heart seizes –

I recall my own red ribbons,

the shower drain.

 

I know there are no words

for this.

 

He flutters inside me.

I’m bawling at the crowded coffee shop,

head ducked hoping to be overlooked.

 

I remember drowning

in the infinite silence

that surrounds you now.

 

Leave a Reply

