Drives to Indoor

– This is morning –

but the sun is just setting,

my car a lone streak

on a usually packed highway.

 

The guitar is loose, lyrics tight:

my soundtrack as I travel

to a stuffy warehouse

where the bang! of the ball

will echo against scuffed walls.

 

We’ll play for 50

and at the end my shirt

will stick to my body like hot glue

and my skin will glisten as I lumber

back to my car, Adidas crunching

on the loose gravel.

 

– It’s when I spend the most time thinking ‘bout what I’ve given up –

 

*Italicized lyrics from Mixed Tape by Jack’s Mannequin*

Leave a Reply

