My First Steps

Halfway down Sylvan and I spy

the me from weeks before –

full waddle, a pause to almost a shuffle

as a contraction grips my lower back.

My family is a duck trail ahead of me,

our daily trek from their Airbnb to our place.

The walk, five minutes, usually takes us fifteen.

 

But now I am (for the first time since August)

Singular.

This time I pause

from the weight of the moment.

No family. No bulging belly.

 

I drink in sunshine,

blind myself on the cotton candy sky.

Inside I am traveling a tightrope of tumultuous emotions,

but on this gravely slab of concrete,

for a mere five seconds, I just am

Me.

Leave a Reply

